The Daniel H. Burnham Award was created by the Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce’s Board of Directors to pay tribute to a prominent business leader, not only for their influence in advancing the Chicagoland business climate, but also for their tremendous civic contributions helping to make this city a better place to both work and live. This year marks the 28th anniversary of the Burnham Award and shines a light on the importance of civic involvement and is a reminder of how Chicago thrives with a fully engaged business community.

The 2019, and 28th, recipient of the Daniel H. Burnham Award for Distinguished Leadership is Larry Richman, Chair, U.S. Region, CIBC.

As Chair of U.S. Region, CIBC Bank USA, Larry is focused on developing client relationships, fostering community engagement and mentoring team members. 

Richman previously served as Senior Executive Vice President, Group Head, CIBC U.S. Region, and President and Chief Executive Officer, CIBC Bank USA. He joined CIBC following its June 2017 acquisition of The PrivateBank, where he served as President and CEO. He joined The PrivateBank in November 2007 after a long career with LaSalle Bank in Chicago, where he rose to President and Chief Executive Officer of LaSalle Bank N.A., and President of LaSalle Bank Midwest. He began his career at American National Bank and joined Exchange National Bank of Chicago in 1981 until its acquisition by LaSalle.

Richman is very active in many civic, philanthropic and governance activities. He serves on the boards of Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Big Shoulders Fund, Chicago Urban League, Museum of Science and Industry, Western Golf Association and The Executives’ Club of Chicago. 

More than 600 of Chicago’s top business leaders gather together at the annual Burnham Award dinner to celebrate Chicago’s legacy of always dreaming big and honoring a business leader who makes “no little plans.” Attendees enjoy a gourmet dinner, wine, cocktails, and silent auction in support of the Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce. A portion of the dinner proceeds benefits the Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce’s Foundation which focuses on workforce development initiatives.

Tickets, tables, and sponsorship opportunities available - Learn more and register online here.
For more information, contact Lily Scannell at

Past Burnham Honorees:

  • Chris Crain (2018)
  • Ilene S. Gordon (2017)
  • W. James McNerney (2016)
  • Frederick H. Waddell (2015)
  • Alejandro Silva (2014)
  • Greg Brown (2013)
  • Ellen M. Costello (2012)
  • John W. Rogers, Jr. (2011)
  • Glenn F. Tilton (2010)
  • John A. Canning, Jr. (2009)
  • John W. Rowe (2008)
  • Norman R. Bobins (2007)
  • W. James Farrell (2006)
  • Miles D. White (2005)
  • Deborah L. DeHaas (2004)
  • William A. Osborn (2003)
  • Alan G. McNally (2002)
  • Ronald J. Gidwitz (2001)
  • Andrew J. McKenna (2000) 
  • Edgar D. Jannotta (1999)
  • Lester Crown (1998)
  • John H. Bryan (1997)
  • Patrick G. Ryan (1996)
  • Arnold R. Weber (1995)
  • James J. O’Connor (1994)
  • Richard L. Thomas (1993)
  • Frank W. Considine (1992)